Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Question: Could it be harmful to apply for a job?

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
AnthonyAnimation greentooth
Quick backstory- I've been doing freelance for the past two years and unfortunately it's not the type of work I would consider putting on my reel. I'm working on updating it, but it's slow going considering I have a few projects going on at the same time.

Here's the issue: There are quite a few studio job openings near me that I would love to apply to that have been posted recently. I'm afraid that if I apply with a sub-par reel, not only will they pass me up, but it will affect their judgment if I apply at a later date.

It will take at least a month before my reel is to a place I'm comfortable and if I wait too long the position may be filled. Is it better to be patient and accept that the time isn't right or take a chance with an out of date reel?

Replies

• Arturow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arturow polycounter
    Hello AnthonyAnimation,

I'm in the same boat as you, I had been working as a freelancer for 2 years haha but almost every year or less I apply to a company that I want to enter. When I apply again I always show more/different work from before because it was clear that my past work didn't make the cut haha. While I keep working on my reel I accept works that help me to get into that company.

In some talks, I heard that you usually wait 6 months before applying again or just if you have something new/more to show, just not the same thing over again :)

Just my opinion, good luck on the job hunt!
  • Mannykins
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mannykins polycounter lvl 7
    Unfortunately I think this question is kind of a "how long is a piece of string" kind of question. I wish there were a definitive answer, but talk to any two people and they'll have a different take on it.