Home Career & Education

How to get a level designer job without a school degree ?

Hi, 

I started learning 3D modeling and sculpting a little over a year ago but the more I did the more I realized level designer is what I want to do. Now my only problem is : I wonder if it's possible to get a junior LD job without going to school. I know you can get a modeling, sculpting, texturing, animation, lighting job if your portfolio is good enough but I can't quite figure out WHAT I could put in a LD portfolio. I mean, I'm not gonna put some Little Big Planet or Mario Maker levels in that. Obviously, I need to create some levels in Unity or UD4 but without an animated character the level would probably be boring af. 

I live in Montreal and there's plenty of studios and jobs here so that's not an issue. I'm also in the third step of a 3 steps admission process for a level designer course at a very good school here. And it's not one of these 1k a month scam school (been there). It's something like 500 CAD$ for the whole thing and the school was created through a collaboration between a CEGEP and Ubisoft a couple of years ago. My friend went 2 years ago and 90% of them got a job in the following weeks (at Eidos, Ubisoft, Behaviour Interactive, Gameloft, etc).