Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Stylized Explosion FX Animation - Overwatch Inspired

null
Offline / Send Message
Atif_FX null
Hi everyone :smile:  I am a VFX/Animation artist and I always aspire to share and learn knowledge from the art community. Polycount seems a wonderful place to showcase work and share knowledge. As my first post, I would like to post my recent FX animation work here for critic and feedback. I have crafted a stylized explosion animation, my reference was one of the explosions from Junkrat's Frag launcher in the game Overwatch. I have done it using the particle and shader masking technique in the real-time software tool Fork Particle. There were 18 components employed in creating this effect. Timing is critical as most emitter layers are short lived. 

Explosion FX

I am sorry for the quality in Gif its little banded here due to the gif quality. However If anyone wants to see it with less banding and little better quality, I am posting a video link as well 

https://vimeo.com/207095575

Reference I Recorded 

Feedback and suggestions are highly welcome guys. I would love to share a breakdown as well in due time. Thanks

Replies

• Green_Cheek_Conure
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Green_Cheek_Conure polycounter lvl 2
    First of all this looks amazing! 
    I certainly wouldn't know where to start in creating something like that!

I know next to nothing of FX animation so I certainly can't give any sound technical advice, but I'll try to give some advice as just another everyday viewer.

Only two things I wanna point out.

First is the very center-piece explosion with the deepest colors. One thing that's different with your version compared to the references is the direction and timing of the explosion. Yours seems to be more of an implosion where it starts off at its strongest at F1 then becomes weaker eventually fading away inwardly(Its enveloping into itself to fade away, to put it another way).