Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP][UE4] An electric sheep on a roof

[Last update]

Hi everybody!

I'm working on a personal project  based on Do electric sheep dream of androids?, by Philip K. Dick.
My goal is to depict the post-apocalyptic mood of the book rather than the cyberpunk one of the movie.

It's my first exercice of making realistic game assets with PBR textures. As I'm an self-taught artist, I'll be glad to read any feeback!

The scene takes place during the first chapter, when the protagonist, Rick Deckard, go up on his roof to see his robotic sheep. Here is a simple blockout of the scene:

To better understand texturing, I tough it it better to make assets one by one. So, I started with a complex one, a big closet. My process is the following: firstly, I search references of objects/textures I want to achieve.

Then, I get the blockout shape to build the lowpoly mesh. Then I duplicated it and add some bevels. I returned to the lowpoly mesh to remove unnecessary faces (invisibles from any perspective). Finally, I unwrapped uv and bake normals.

Finally, I go into Substance Painter to create materials from scratch. I very suprise about how heavy .spp files are (~200 Mo for this asset). I think my materials are too complex compare to smart material pressets. Anyway, here is the Substance Painter render:

4143 tris, texture size of 2048px.
What do you think about it (as a game asset)?

Replies

• antoine_bassin
    I made other assets with the same process.
    For the table, I gone into ZBrush to add big holes. Then, I returned the tabletop to create a second asset, with the same topology/texture.
    Regarding the bucket and the watering can, 
    I'm not happy with the water, any advice?
    I think I'll have to homogenize the dirt level while I put assets together.
    As I can't add Sketchfab embed, you can see them with realtime renders here.

576 tris, texture size of 2048px.