Home Technical Talk

Rendering an interior room without any windows Arnold in Maya 2017

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
bybyle polycounter lvl 4
Hello guys! 

I'm new here! 
Im studying 3D animation in Belgium. And I need to model an interior room. I got it, but now I have to do the lights. 

There is no windows or any external lights on the scene, what do you guys recommand me to use with Arnold?
I need like a medieval castle ambiance (see the screen right there without the textures, on how is my room doing!), but I have no idea on what to use as lights and how to place them...

Thanks a lot for the help, and sorry if the question was already asked...

Replies

• Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
    if there are no light sources then id say it would be hard to render anything that wouldnt be black. some torches etc ? because giving light when tehre are not lightsources just looks weird.
  • bybyle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bybyle polycounter lvl 4
    Damn i forgot to say, yeah there would be torches!
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    Rendering an interior with a physical renderer(especially unbiased) that has a very weak light source is always going to be a challenge. It will depend on how big the room is and how many light sources there are.

The renderer is pure brute-forcing the rays and it could take an eternity to clean up the noise. Material values will also play a role. So if the walls are bright it will help illuminate the scene due to light bounce/colour bleed. But in your case it's a dark, grey castle so that won't be the case.

Have you done any tests yet? Usually with a biased renderer you can cheat(which can break physicality) but this is not the purpose of unbiased rendering.