Home Career & Education

New to the forums and could use some beginners advice on environment art

Hello everyone, my name is Ragnar and I live in Sweden. I am very new to Polycount, but really glad that I found it!

I have spent countless hours on creating levels for about 5 years, especially on the Far Cry titles. During the past year I have felt that the maps I want to create, are surpassing the limits of what can be done in these map editors. Then a friend introduced me to how the gaming industry works and told me about level design and environment art. This sparked a fire in me and I decided to give it my best shot. 

I downloaded Unreal Engine 4 & Blender (for now), and went through a bunch of tutorials on both programs to get some bearings. I am used to level editors that already have plants that move, realtime-lightning, AI, navmesh, pickups, weather, water etc. etc. So going from that, to this, is quite the change. And I can't seem to find a proper video or text that explains where I should begin. Which is why I made this post.

-What are the kind of things I really should know before starting?
-Where is the limit/boundry between an environment artist and another job role?
-What should I focus on first? Modelling, sculpting, texturing or lightning?
-If modelling/sculpting, what should I start with? Boxes, grass, chairs?
-What tools within UE4/Blender should I focus on learning thoroughly?

Really any information that gives me some stable ground during the beginning of this learning experience is highly appreciated! Any links to good tutorials will make me happy aswell.

For those interested, follow this link and you will see a few photos of my last 4 maps on Far Cry 4.
http://imgur.com/a/B6Yir

Replies

• Lucas Annunziata
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lucas Annunziata polycounter lvl 13
    Hey Ragnar! Welcome to polycount and to the next step on the neverending journey of becoming a better artist.