Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique request

emerald-shine
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
emerald-shine polycounter lvl 4
I was wondering could I please get some critique on my portfolio
https://www.artstation.com/artist/emerald-shine

Its very small. I am very picky about what goes on there. Ive made plenty of characters but only ones Im happy to put my name to make it on there.  I feel I have potential as a character artist, I am still a rookie but I am pushing myself as much as possible and thought I was making good progress.

Recently things have happened that have seriously knocked my confidence. So much so, that I am beggining to wonder if a career as a character artist is even viable for me.

I am seeking critisim and feedback on my work because I want to do this for a living. Specifcally, whats wrong with my work and what I can do to improve, Where I should focus my efforts and the best way to present my work.

Thanks.

Replies

• pmiller001
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pmiller001 greentooth
    Well first I'd say is never give up. Even if you're not where you want to be, hard work and a consistent drive will yield its own rewards in time. Its not about the destination its about the journey. 
    That being said on to your portfolio.
    I think your presentation is weak, You should take some time to light these things in a creative way. 
    Specifically , the bear and the witch look very flat. Presentation is remarkably important, and can really make or break a portfolio, you don't want your good models taken down by a bad presentation. Think of it like this, a good game can quickly turn into a bad one, if the UI is terrible. 

Your models need work, and I think you just need to practice more, cause there are some techniques that are used here, that are clearly amateur hour. Not a problem, just means you need to go back and work on them more, Look at what others are doing and emulate that.