Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio critique

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Prylos triangle
Greetings everyone! I'm new to polycount, I joined because I want to learn and get better. I recently moved to Los Angeles in search of a job but I believe my portfolio needs a lot of work.

Here's a link to what I have so far.
 https://alexszopinski.artstation.com

Thank you!

Replies

• gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The fact that you are using Artstation for your portfolio means you are already avoiding a ton of pitfalls people usually fall into with bad websites.  You should probably fill out the summary on the resume page though:P

I don't think your work is half bad.  There is plenty of room to improve of course.  I think the Alliance Dropship is the piece that shows the worst. The fact that the whole thing is red, and the details are kinda basic and lacking a lot of material variety makes this look much more simplistic than your other pieces.

I think the blue devil car is pretty cool!

You do a lot of vehicles, are you wanting to be a vehicle artist?  You should try to get an idea for what you want to do specifically.  If you want to be an environment person, only having 1 environment and a bunch of props/vehicles will be held against you.

You don't have any glaringly bad habits, and your work is is neither awful nor incredibly good, so its difficult point you in a specific direction.  I think you just need to narrow in on the type of work you want to do, and just keep making stuff. Just keep pumping out work and getting feedback from Polycount as you go.  Keep trying to improve with each piece and bump up the quality and remove the lower quality stuff as you go. 
  • Prylos
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Prylos triangle