Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Monthly Environment Art Challenge - January & February 2017 (46)

Replies

• NBerbatov
    Offline / Send Message
    NBerbatov polycounter lvl 6
    Some update from me :)

• Sequencer
    Offline / Send Message
    Sequencer triangle
    Hi guys, so I finally decided to give one of these challenges a shot too. This post is a bit late because I'm already working on the textures but here is the mesh I went with. Probably a bit higher polycount than necessary but I wanted to make sure that it won't be a problem when painting because I'm not very experienced in how much geometry  would actually be needed.
    Not quite sure about the grass yet if I'll add planes for that, gonna have to try it out.
    I'll try my best to get it finished in time but I might have bitten of more than I can chew with hand painting it.
  • Tzur_H
    Offline / Send Message
    Tzur_H polycounter lvl 9
    @cfey dude, awesome progress!  you're almost there.  as said, lighting and tweaking the materials would improve it a lot.  you seem to have gone with a lot of metallic surfaces? yet they look dull and boring.  get more specular highlights and reflections going in there, lower the roughness values.  take a look at Toku's scene for reference, I think he pretty much nailed the lighting and the base material properties.
  • Toku
    Offline / Send Message
    Toku polycounter lvl 6
    @cfey gotta agree with Tzur_H the modelling looks good but the lighting and materials could do with a lot of work. From what I see it's in Marmoset which isnt bad but may be worth trying UE4 if you get the time!