Home Technical Talk

How do you define medium poly versus low poly and how does your technique change?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Please forgive my ignorance in this matter. I'm a visual/interaction designer by day who is seriously pursuing VR apps as a side gig and I'm coming into this stuff all very new though willing to learn. 

I took a Udemy course on low poly Blender modeling a learned a lot. 

I wanted to do more organic stuff so a professional high-poly modeler I knew sent me some of his utorials for Zbrush. Zbrush sculpting is cool but hi-poly work that is then baked, and retopoed is a huge technical pipeline overhead and goes beyond my needs for simple VR experiences. 

I look at stuff like 

This: https://sketchfab.com/models/cb8e95b3cbc041cf967360432512a986

Or this:

https://www.behance.net/gallery/16588335/Stone-Golem-Medium-Polycount

Or this:

https://sketchfab.com/models/4b7dd6fb47af462c90d6fcbfbaf65508

Or this:

https://sketchfab.com/models/aad4c32e997f4efc9571294c7e1d0c8c

And I don't see how they're done with the low poly techniques I've learned, nor do they look quite high-poly. 

Is there a specific approach here that I'm missing? A technique, tool, or program that is best suited for this kind of work?

Obviously the most important thing is the person and the work, not the tool or program used, but I feel like I'm probably going about this the wrong way. 

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    There are countless of different approaches, for about as many different types of results.

The highpoly to lowpoly baking workflow is one of them and has a huge range of applications, but as you noticed already it is quite technically involved and is not necessarily relevant to your needs.