Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Looking for Monologue Animation Critique

null
Offline / Send Message
TopJayce null
Hello Polycount!
This is my first time with using Mocap data in Maya and it is the second time I've done lip sync.
This is all for my university module so any and all critique is welcome. :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BVV-fmv9B8k

Replies

• Forever
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Forever polycounter lvl 3
    Hey man, 

I like what you've got, so don't let the critique I'm about to give to you get in the road of that. You've got a good energy in your piece thus far, so throughout all your changes, try and keep that. 

So I'm gonna split the critique into two parts - body motion and lip sync. 

Body motion: 

- On the third (I think it's third haha) step, the left arm freezes for about 10-14 frames. It's actually really hard to do if you're moving your other arm in a walking motion like you have it doing. You could have it going back a bit further or going up behind his back, or something, but as it is right not, it's a little jarring to have it just hanging there.

- The second watch through I had, I noticed that the eyes weren't really looking at a set place during the monologue. I don't know if you mean to have him talking to an audience or to a single person, because that is never established (which is fine), but the eyes go from looking far in one direction, to straight when standing in about the same point.  

- When the hand is close up to the face - half curled up - I'd recommend opening it up more, as in rotating it towards the camera, to the point where you can start to see his thumb. It will give the motion more readability. 

- The head shake around "to be in power" does add something, I like it.