Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Maya Animation Workflow Tips and Tools Video

diregoldfish
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
diregoldfish polycounter lvl 5
I've been an animator and/or a tech artist in the industry for over a decade now, and different versions of my core toolset are still in use at many AAA studios. My last AAA game was Bioshock Infinite, and at my indie studio I'm the sole animator/rigger/tech artist on The Flame in The Flood.

Over the years I've made a few behind-the-scenes videos and a few UE4 tips and tricks videos, but I thought it might be fun to finally showcase some animation and rigging pipeline tools. This is the first video in what I'm hoping will be a series about my Maya tools and how my scenes are structured. I tried to keep it short and to-the-point. I would like to go deeper into auto-rigging and my various animation tools in a future videos, but only if that is interesting and useful for other developers. Other topics could include how to set up a scene with multiple characters that have varying customization options for export, or more AAA pipeline stuff like that? Please check this out and let me know what you think!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3q7cCsynKk

-Gwen

Replies

• slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    Ahh Great to see you posting here, Gwen! Love your channel! Also, your micro talk about why animators are so weird was bloody hilarious! 

Looking forward to seeing more from you. :)
  • diregoldfish
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Haha, thanks Stefan! We had a great crew for the micro-talks last year. I'm not sure how we're going to top it this year :X (but we will of course)
  • Archanex
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Archanex polycounter lvl 18