Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Lykos Learns

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Lykos vertex
Hello all.

I'm an aspiring artist. I started to dabble with digital painting a couple of years ago, but only over the past year or so I've started to take it more seriously. I've been struggling to make the time for it and it takes me far too long to paint currently but I think I'm slowly getting there. I'm in the process of building up a body of work and trying to complete pieces instead of always moving on and starting something new.

Not knowing any artists in the real world I'd like to get involved with some online communities. I find that the lack of any interaction with fellow aspirants and artists alike leaves a tiny void in my life. I also lack any output for my art and I need some structure to push me further.

...But above all of this my most pressing matter is a need for critiques!

I'll start with posting a work in progress of a Dark Angels Space Marine. Having a complete lack of lighting resources I've found it very challenging. This is also my first foray into lighting. (I've just noticed my upload appears a lot more saturated than my original piece, apologies).

So essentially there should be a sickly yellowy glow from the ground infront of this Space Marine. There are a few other light sources dotted around, chiefly a blue light from behind to the right.

I would really appreciate it if anyone could please point out any errors and set me on the right route!

I'll post a few other pieces over the next few days, mostly almost finished.

Thanks for reading.

Replies

• Avanthera
    Offline / Send Message
    Avanthera polycounter lvl 10
    Hey Lykos,

Painting is a really rough thing to pick up, there are a lot of things to get used to and work on. For your painting, I'd suggest doing a study on a sphere, as it's easy to adjust and fix things.

I looked up this old iron ball, as that seems to be the closest to what you're making: