Home Marmoset

Marmoset Toolbag to Maya

davidbk
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
davidbk null
I'm new to PBR, Marmoset and real-time rendering. I'd like to render out a sequence in Maya using the Hardware 2.0 renderer, and I'm wondering if it's possible to pass shaders from Marmoset to Maya for real-time/Hardware rendering. I understand the DX11 shader in Maya is similar to the PBR shaders in Marmoset. Is this correct? Where can I find info on passing shaders from one application to the other?

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Can you clarify what you mean by "pass shaders"?
  • davidbk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    davidbk null
    Hey, yeah, well I guess I'm not exactly sure what Marmoset Toolbag really excels at, and I need some clarification myself. I haven't had the chance to play around with it, and I'm not sure if I'm going off on a tangent here, but I've seen amazing results produced with Marmoset and PBR materials. After doing a bit of research I learned that you can actually use Maya Viewport 2.0 and some of its own shaders, like the DX11 as I mentioned above, to get similar quality in real-time.

Is it correct of me to assume that Marmoset is used for building shading networks -- which end up defining the overall look of the material (ie. it builds the networks that define the maps, node connections, and the way they contribute to albedo, microsurface, reflectivity, fresnel, etc). Therefore, is it possible to create these shading networks in Marmoset, and then import them in Maya so that the materials essentially look the same in Maya Viewport 2.0?