Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Student showreel

Dolgaror
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Dolgaror polycounter lvl 8
Hi !

I'm a French 3d student looking for criticisms and advices on my showreel.
In fact this is my first showreel and I have spend many hours to do this.

Because i'm going to apply very soon for a 6 months internship, i would not have time to change many things on my showreel, but i will keep  your advices and criticisms in my mind for my next showreel.

Here is the link :

Thanks in advance

Replies

• Zi0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zi0 polycounter
    You should texture the stylised house that you show at the beginning of your showreel.
    You have characters, weapons and environments on your showreel, you should pick a specialization and master it, right now all the models are not of a high quality, the light sabre is super high poly and has a normal map and the other materials are not that pretty. The tunnel scene has potential but the materials are a bit boring at the moment, it could use some more fancy set dressing, look at post apocalyptic scenes and games for inspiration.

Good luck!
    EDIT: And don't lose motivation after some harsh feedback! Do some tutorials and you will improve :)
  • Sabot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sabot polycounter lvl 5
    Some thoughts in no particular order:
    • Put your contact details at the very first page somewhere unobtrusive, minor gripe, 
    • ("The Survivor" and "Cartoon Warrior") Skip the characters. They  feel unfinished and a bit flat, lacking anatomy and structure. Unless your goal right this minute is to become a character artist, dump them. They are lowering the overall quality of your reel.