Home General Discussion

Getting a job overseas?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
melviso polycounter lvl 10
Hi,
I have been a member of this forum for some years now and I have been inspired and motivated by the community here. I cannot count how many times I have gotten help/solutions for technical issues I have encountered during my projects.
For the long while now, I have been working on my portfolio and working on my skills to become better at what I do while undertaking small freelance jobs so as to have free time to work on my portfolio since I graduated from a university in the UK, after undertaking a postgraduate course and returning home.
I have been applying to studios specifically archviz ones overseas especially the UK as I studied there and I met a lot of cool and professional people. I have been getting replies from a good number of studios on how good my work is but my application was unsuccessful. Some other studios show some interest but later I no longer hear from them even though I send follow up e-mails.
I am wondering if there is any advice I can get to improve my chances. I have been working very hard on my work and quite frankly, I enjoy doing this. I don't know if I would ever get a chance due to my location. Would a company in the UK ever consider hiring someone from Africa?

I would appreciate any insight or advice I can get. Thanks. :)

Replies

• thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    you'll probably need to have your right to work in the country secured before they even bother to look at your application. i seem to remember they introduced some restrictions to number of work visa for non EU folk a few years ago and ever since that clause has been a common sight on job adverts.

tier 2 seems to be the one i was talking about: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Points-based_immigration_system_(United_Kingdom)

• melviso
    Options
    Offline / Send Message