Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for Character Design feedback

emerald-shine
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
emerald-shine polycounter lvl 4
Hey everyone. Been along time since I posted here but its high time I started using this account. I am in my final year of Uni and have begun my honours project. I am desgining and modeling a trio of characters from concept all the way to game ready. High poly sculpts, rigging, animations, I'll be doing it all. Its a tall order but I have some experience and no doubt in my mind I can nail it.

The first chunk of the project is designing the characters. Theres always something that could be improved and something I may have not considered. Im seeking as much critique and feedback as possible so my designs are as close to professional quality as possible. I would be indebted if you could look over my designs, ideas and give any input.

This is Captain Porkbelly. The protagonist from the titular series. He was inspired by Earthworm Jim. He comes from a world full of predators that imprison other animals to fatten them up and harvest them as food. Not content with becoming the next round of bacon, he escapes this hell with the help of less endangered animals. Inspired by tales of another hero he dons a cape and mask and returns to his old stomping grounds stronger (not quite faster) to free the trapped livestock from a gluttonous fate.

I wanted him to look fairly comical but still heroic. Being a pig he is constantly dirty and has a thing for mud. He loves it so much, he uses it as warpaint and smears it around his eyes. This is meant to resemble a typical superhero mask, combine that with the cape and we see that he is parodying the superhero genre.