Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Dungeons and Dragons Dragonborn - Game Character

Hey!

I'm a student trying to hone my skills in character art and this is my progress on a dragonborn sorcerer.

I've tried to spend some time getting the form/muscle detail right and I've still got a long way to go with anatomy and zBrush in general so crit is super welcome. :smile:

Replies

• AtticusMars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    Obviously your call what you want to do but given how humanoid the design is, I would go in this direction:

Same as above, but side by side instead of animated:

Key problem areas: 
    - Shoulder is extremely unnatural, joint sticks out way too far
    - Legs are very short, this is exaggerated by the fact that the knees are placed very low relative to the rest of the leg. I'd increase the leg length below the knee onwards.

Also made some silhouette changes to better represent humanoid anatomy in the upper leg area (your legs are bulging out massively in the hips), deltoid, and forearms.

• Vertrucio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vertrucio greentooth
    This is suffering from a common problem a lot of enthusiastic character artists have.

As above, your underlying forms and proportions are way off, but yet you've gone ahead and added on details like scales, wrinkles and more. Stop detailing, go back to a more basic model and get the forms and proportions correct and flowing well before you add on such detail. Those details don't really hide the core problems

In addition to the above changes, the breasts aren't properly attached, they usually are attached to the pectorals, not directly connected to the deltoids.

To save work, you can cut things apart and rearrange them, even add back in details via projection, but you really do need to step back to a lower subdivision and get the forms right.
  • Georgia Jeffries
    Options
    Offline / Send Message