Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Cave Altar Environment WIP (First Attempt)

Elm
triangle
Offline / Send Message
Elm triangle
Hello! 
New to polycount, but also feeling rather new to 3D and engine related things. I'm currently a Games Art Student and one of my assignments is to recreate a concept or film scene in UE4. This is the first time I'm really tackling creating an environment, and also the first time I hope to tackle modular pieces or tilable textures. So I have a lot to learn.

I picked the concept art piece by Rolf Bertz. (I noticed this has been a previous environment challenge so I'm in the process of reading through that thread and making notes.)

Concept: 

To get a better understanding, I created some moodboards. 

I created a separate moodboard for the statue, since I figured its a pretty complex thing for a beginner, and will be the last thing I approach. 

My planning/breakdown for modular assets: 

Starting my blockout, my current thought process is to create decent base meshes that can be taken into Zbrush for high poly sculpting, then brought back into Maya to create Low Poly Meshes for the engine. Baking/Texturing will be a combination of Substance Painter and zbrush. 

Replies

• Elm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Elm triangle
    A lot of things I want to redo and change, such as the mesh for my low poly assets. Aswell as redo textures and UVs, for a tilable texture in substance designer as I feel it looks more realistic than painter. Currently really unhappy with it but ohwell. 
    Using basic placeholder substance painter textures.

Okay, so one of the last things to sculpt in my room scene is the Statue, which I intended to leave till the end as I've never attempted to sculpt a person before (my extent of zbrush is those candles above).