Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite WIP

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
LalaD polycounter lvl 6
Hello everyone!  This is my first post on polycount.  I'm part-way through a personal project, to create one of my favourite Magic: The Gathering characters in 3D.  That character is Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite.  I've been posting some work in progress images in the Ten Thousand Hours Facebook group, who have been lovely and given me some useful pointers.  My friend @tda told me I should put them here too because you guys are awesome at giving great crits.  This is the model as it stands currently, lit in Unreal Engine:

I'm an environment artist professionally, so this project was to push myself out of various comfort zones - to try making a character, learn how to use blender (I'm a Max girl), to learn how to use Marvelous Designer, to learn how to rig a humanoid and to use Substance Painter to make materials not usually found in environments and props.

Here's a dump of the WIP in chronological order so you can see how it's coming along.

Modelling in Zbrush:

@tda helped me loads with this one, figuring out what was wrong with the chest, hips and legs.  I also altered the headplate and limb lengths.

Some remodelling later, and I had an acceptable high poly model.

A quick test pose done with ZBrush's Transpose Master to check it looks ok:

I used Blender to make the low poly retopo (about 55k tris).  I think I captured the form ok but a lot of my edge loops don't make a lot of sense when it comes to rigging.  Having not rigged a character before, I didn't know why it would be important until I tried rigging and posing her, if that makes sense?  It wasn't ideal but it was workable so I stuck with it, did my normal and ao baking with XNormal, and I was onto the part I was most excited for...

Substance Painter