Home General Discussion

Looking For Some Advice (Game Industry, Art Jobs)

CJE
polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
CJE polycounter lvl 13
Hey everyone,

I'm hoping to get some advice on how I should best progress with my career.  I've been freelancing part-time as a 3D Artist for several years and I've gotten a chance to work on some cool projects (Rise of the Tomb Raider, Dragon Age to name a few).  I've been working a "normal" 9-5 career (which I got a degree for)  in that time to "get by",  but have come to realise I don't want to do that career forever and want to pursue my 3D art full-time.

I've started applying for studio positions, and am starting to ramp up my freelance work, but I wanted to get some advice on how I can better present myself and develop. 

Most of my professional work has been prop and environmental work.  My personal work has always been focused on characters, and this is what I've found the most interesting. I've considered pushing more into the environment side, since that's where my professional work as mainly focused and there seem to be more positions in this area. I can see the appeal in learning to create complex beautiful environments, I've just never really focused on it before and there are a ton of aspects to it that are completely different than "hero/prop modeling".

I also know my portfolio needs some work, as it's a bit mish-mashed at the moment.

www.chademond.artstation.com

Does anyone have any advice on how I should move forward in terms of focusing my energies? Should I focus on creating complete environments? Should I maybe push towards a pure "prop artist"?

Thanks!

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Hey Chad, question for you that I hope answers others questions: