Home General Discussion

"Your portfolio lacks design" - A little help about this?

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
miguelnarayan polycounter lvl 8
Hi. :)
I graduated from a graphic design and multimedia college, which itself, for many people does not mean anything, but we won't get off topic.
I often get comments from people I don't know well, saying I lack 'design' in my portfolio, I don't want to make this a portfolio review of my stuff, I am more interested in grabbing this concept, of what it really means to have more design.

(Optional read, about me, still relevant)
I proud myself to retain much of the art history I learned in college, the thumbnailing process, design thinking, mind mappings, mood boards and how to research, I learned how to draw in the paper and pencil there too, then I learned how to communicate a design through graphics for posters, magazines, so on. Then cinematography.
I taught myself about concept art a lot, Gnomon DVDs and gumroads and some books on Art Center and Massive Black...

I still get comments about design. If I was doing a flyer, brochure, logo, I would have not this kind of comments, I didn't have a problem communicating with the client and have a design that follows through our briefing and communicates what it needs.
What does this mean, really? Should I add more of my process, include thumbnails, rough sketches, photo moodboard references, to support my final work and design choices?
Should I go study biomechanics, enginery of all sorts full time to understand how to build mech designs that work?
I'm really a bit lost. I'm hoping I can help others with this post as well, so I'm making it open.

Replies

• lotet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    well first of it really kind of depends which people are telling you this. you say you dont know them well, but are they other artist? clients? friends?