Home General Discussion

Should I be worried about speed when animating?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
AGoodFella polycounter lvl 5
Something that has been in the back of my mind.

When animating, I could easily spend 2-3 days planning, shooting reference, drawing over poses and breaking it down. Then I easily spend a few days getting all of my main poses in. Granted, these shots can range from 5-15 secs.

And then I hear people say that animations can get done in a few days in a studio or even a day. Don't know if that's with mocap or without.

Should I be worried about speed, should I try to find shortcuts to get through animations quicker?

I'm still trying to break into the industry so I'm not a veteran or anything, I'm still a beginner/junior.

Replies

• lotet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    A friend of mine works for an animation studio that does TV shows/cartoons. they are on a pretty tight schedule, and push out about 5 seconds per day (per person). On features films they can spend waaayyyy more time then that.

are you focusing on games or films?

I dont think you should worry that much, especially not in the beginning. Get good first, then you can think about speed.
  • AGoodFella
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well, Ideally, I would like to end up in games but I'm open to other areas, especially to get experience and to grow.
  • MiAlx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MiAlx polycounter lvl 10