Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Progress Log For Hand Painted Road Sign (Critique Wanted!)

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
AutumnPioneer polycounter lvl 4
Hi all,

So i'm new to the hand painted scene, and polycount. I don't really have any experience with painting or digital painting, so any pointers and critique would be very welcome.

There is a lot of inspiring work on here, so i thought i'd get some motivation going for my own stuff too and log my progression. So here is where the piece is at so far. I'm just working in photoshop and blender currently.

Thank you!

Replies

• AutumnPioneer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Coloured the main pole, about half way finished, needs more wear and grunge. Any feedback would be appreciated, as i'm finding it hard to make the dirt and metal to look right. Thanks!
  • aceofspades230
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aceofspades230 polycounter lvl 5
    It's coming along good. What I would say is try and smooth the edge of the sign. As for the texture, I would add scratches to the paint and put some minor dirt here and there. Look at old signs for reference. Also is that a light at the top? If so that would be a nice touch once it's done.
  • AutumnPioneer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It's coming along good. What I would say is try and smooth the edge of the sign. As for the texture, I would add scratches to the paint and put some minor dirt here and there. Look at old signs for reference. Also is that a light at the top? If so that would be a nice touch once it's done.
    Thank you for helping! Are you suggesting using more vertices for the edges of the sign? I thought it might be best to keep it low poly, but maybe I can spare a few more?

There are a few scratches on the sign already, but maybe they aren't big enough or have enough contrast, so I'll take another look and add dirt.

And yeah, there will be a light at the top to make it a bit more exciting. Thank you :)