Home Technical Talk

What is the best way/ things to consider when retopologising a high poly character

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Trill_Clinton polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys so as the title suggests when it comes to retopology of characters I always hit a big wall. I am a studying character artist who is aware of things such as face and deformation loops and such however from past experience trying to retopologise one of my high poly sculpts by hand it became a mess trying to arrange and organise all the quads I have made. Ever since then I have been very anxious about the retopology phase. My question here now is how do you guys approach retopology. How do you have it so that the process is a more caluculated and easier process rather than it being somewhat guesswork and iteration over iteration of cleaning mistakes. In addition generally how and where do you guys start when it comes to this process. I am planning to retopologise by hand in zbrush but also experiment with topogun in the future. Anyway I hope to hear from you guys soon and thank you for allowing me to be part of a platform such as this.

Thank you :)

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Attempting to do a proper retopology pass in Zbrush will only be a waste of time. Either use Topogun, or one of the (less specialized, but still robust) solutions available in Max/Maya/Blender.

As for a strategy:

- Start by defining the outer edge of things, the symmetry lines of each part, and so on. Then fill in.
    - Don't get obsessed with "quads". Of course most of your surfacing will be grid-based, but you will also need to convert three rows of edges into two, branch out at an angle, and so on. And sometimes a geodesic pattern can work very well in some cases.