Home Technical Talk

zBrush: High Poly to Low Poly Techniques

Devon M
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Devon M polycounter lvl 4
Just as the title states. I'm fairly new to zBrush, and I'm trying to find a good workflow for taking my high poly mesh and breaking it down to a low poly mesh (as a video game model).

was using Decimation inside zBrush, but I had a friend tell me that was "archaic" and that there are better, more optimized ways of getting a low poly mesh. He suggested zRemesher. I tried it out, but it doesn't retain the details of my mesh too well (my high poly mesh has lots of curves and sharp divots. It's a rock formation) I tried decimation again, and it retains details pretty well, but the mesh looks very messy.

Any suggestions from you seasoned veterans? :) Like I said, I'm fairly new to zBrush, and I'm trying to find a good, solid workflow for getting a low poly mesh from a high poly mesh. Thank you all who leave advice and tips!

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    I'm fairly new to zBrush, and I'm trying to find a good workflow for taking my high poly mesh and breaking it down to a low poly mesh (as a video game model).

Then first and foremost you need to know the ins and outs of building solid topology by hand (either in a regular 3d program like Maya/Max, or a dedicated retopo environment like Topogun) before attempting any seemingly time saving shortcut.

Now I am not saying that zremesher and decimation master don't have their uses for lowpoly asset creation (heck, I just used them on parts of a deformable game character just now and they did the job for the particular need I had) but there is no way around it, you'll have to know how to build tightly controlled geometry first.