Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

zBrush--Dynamesh

Devon M
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Devon M polycounter lvl 4
EDIT:
It would appear I may have posted this in the wrong channel. Sorry about that people, and admins. If possible, please move this thread to the correct channel (I don't think I can...)

ORIGINAL:
Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to the sculpting scene and I had a question about zBrush. 

So I'm sculpting this skull right now. I made the base mesh in Maya, made sure I had all the edge loops in the correct place for when it's smoothed in zBrush, and I started sculpting afterwards around 1 million active points. 

This is a skull decoration that goes on a door. The skull is relatively cubic and not round at all. 

So, when I sculpted some of the edges it appeared that my mesh was quite literally tearing apart at the seams. It was so bizarre. I thought maybe I didn't merge my verts from the base mesh in Maya. So I've spent my whole day trying to fix my model and stop this tearing, but I couldn't do it. 

I found some advice suggesting to use Dynamesh, and that it may solve my problem. So far, it would appear so. I can sculpt the edges and they don't seem to be tearing apart anymore. 

Why is that? And do you generally work in Dynamesh? Or only certain occasions?

Here is a picture before Dynamesh:

Here is a picture after Dynamesh (same location):

Thank you for any advice you can part with me. I'm still learning. :)

Replies

• killnpc
    Offline / Send Message
    killnpc polycounter
    Weld the verts there, you have a hole in your base mesh. If that doesn't fix it delete and rebuild the faces in that region. hashtag Maya sucks. :pleased:
  • Devon M
    Offline / Send Message
    Devon M polycounter lvl 4