Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Really need some help with level aesthetics of my game

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Shrike interpolator
Long story short, I started programming and using game maker to make a game about 1+ year ago.
Oddly I struggle a lot harder with the art than with the programming or design (i mainly do design generally) - still Im pretty happy with my assets and props generally, but my environment layout sucks so hard, and I really don't know better and need help.

Everything is pre rendered because the engine is 2D only and I like the style

So let me show you some screens of the game. In some places it looks good, but mostly the proportions and the negative space and lack of walls (i think?) is killing it. The main menu looks good imo, theres a good relation of platform and negative space (I think thats why)

But now most of the levels with similar style look like total crap (ignore the poor or missing prop placement, thats WIP)

I also often have these small platforms with paths leading from them, I tried giving some more weight with
the pipes and stuff to fortify it, but generally it all looks poor, I don't know how the make the proportions work
Maybe far wider bridges ?

Best case scenario kinda looks like this: (which I find moderately appealing, probably due to low background space ? not sure)

There are also some larger platforms. This comes down to good prop placement (currently still wip), but real walls would certainly help, but as dumb as that sounds, I struggled so hard with making traditional walls look right that I cut them months ago.

I probably need to fully change the approach, but I would really appreciate some thoughts about why this all looks so bad, and maybe how I could incorporate walls , anything you can think of.

Gameplay works great, we plan to do a kickstarter soon and the environment is really holding everything else back, so I really appreciate anything you can throw at me.

Replies

• killnpc
    Options