Home Technical Talk

Confusion about Photoshop custom panels in the future

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
floon greentooth

Hey Guys!

Recently I used the Adobe Configurator 4 to create custom panels for my colleagues at work.
This panel mostly contains of buttons that call actions. Works fine in cs6 and I was super happy until I tried to install that panel under cc 2015, where it "refused to work". I then read that adobe abandoned the flash based panels in favor for html5 based ones.

Now I'm left a bit confused on how I can tinker on my small yet useful panels. I'm no programer by any means, but I think I can manage to wrap my head around html... I just don't really know where to start.

Is there a tool similar to the adobe configurator?
Do I need to now distribute these panels via the cloud?
Can older photoshop versions also use these new panels?
How would I call actions via html?

Replies

• Klaudio2U
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Klaudio2U polycounter lvl 8
    When you create the new panel you have the option to select for which product it will be - CS6 or CC. That mean that if panel is made for CS6 it might not work for CC so you have to make it again for CC i guess. Did you try that?
  • floon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    floon greentooth
    @Klaudio2U
    Yeah I already tried that, with no success.
    Imho that only works for older cc version (so photoshop Version14 - 15), whereas cc 2015 is version 16.
  • 0xffff
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    0xffff polycounter lvl 3
    Honestly I'd be inclined to advise you not to bother - adobe's extensions seem to break just about every single version.
  • floon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    floon greentooth

@0xffff Haha thanks for the advise, I'll most likely follow it.

So the conclusion is that none one of you guys created panels/plugins for cc2015, or knows the process to do so?