Home General Discussion

Benefit of using game engines for animated films?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
ambelamba polycounter lvl 6
 I know of at least one case:Boxcar Children. Looks like it was made with Source Engine or something and it looks...like a lot to be desired. I heard that it cost about $7 mil and wonder if most of the budget went for the voice talent. The movie was outsourced to some Korean studio (AFAIK) and I can't shake off the feeling that some of the intended budget was embezzled by someone.

BTW, I was wondering if making some decent animated film with a game engine (in this case...obviously Unreal) is really feasible. I am not sure about the real benefit since I am no expert. Maybe they can cut down the rendering time and do a lot of scenes, if not all, with almost real-time approach. 

My guess is that this might work well for TV animated shows. I don't know. It's my hunch. The whole point of using a game engine is to make the product look good with lower budget and shorter time, if possible. I am practically a layman but I am really curious how things will turn out if the whole production is based on Unreal and Nvidia VCA units. (is that even possible? I don't know.)

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    I haven't made any movies, but I've used UE4 to make some personal cartoon projects of mine.

I think if you really want to, you can make an animated film in a game engine. I never felt limited in terms of kind of  content you can do in-game. Actually, it was quite the opposite. I love the freedom of being able to quickly move, edit or spawn any asset without having to wait on some huge ass render.

With a good enough budget, I don't see why it can't be done. 

Edit: Oh yeah, I also remember Epic themselves have shown off cinematics using just the engine and they're availiable for anyone to play around with.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EO0k92iVMjE