Home General Discussion

Left handed tablet use?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Joltya polycounter lvl 10
Hey everyone!

So I'm a left handed artist, and I'm getting increasingly frustrated with having to deal with keybinds in softwares where I use a tablet; specifically with the Undo/Redo hotkeys in Photoshop and Zbrush. Ideally, I would like to have Undo bound to Ctrl+/ to have my right hand one the keyboard and my left hand holding my pen. The problem with this is Photoshop only allows A-Z to be used as hotkeys, and even if I could I don't always use my tablet with it and would like to use Ctrl+Z sometimes, and Zbrush just doesn't allow it at all for some reason (it allows it for one undo level, but I can only use it once per session).

It's really frustrating and kills my motivation that I have to stop whatever I'm doing just to undo what I did. Imagine having to go to "Edit>Undo" every time you made a mistake. I know I can't be the only one who experiences this, but I never see it talked about at all. Are there any other lefties out there who have found a solution to this?

Replies

• Zocky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zocky greentooth
    Another lefty here. Yeah sometimes that is annoying, though i do try to setup my shortcuts either way, so its not such a problem. I do have some weirdass shortcuts. For example, in photoshop, i use F9 for undo, and that works great for me; since i paint with my left hand, my fingers are usually resting somewhere about F9 anyway, so i never have to stretch out to undo at any point.
    It also works for me at least that way, if i use wacom or mouse, doesn't really matter, i'ts always easier for me to press f9 than ctrl+z.

It is more annoying that i had to rotate my wacom for 180 degrees, and for some reason, wacom decides to reboot all the time after that, causing icon to pop up and stop working for a sec.
  • thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character