Home General Discussion

Autodesk subscription-only model - impact so far?

polycount lvl 666
Offline / Send Message
PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
So back at the start of February AD went subscription-only (except for the suites, but that's coming in a few months too). Whats the fallout been like so far? Anyone switched, or seriously considering switching, 3D apps as a result?

Replies

• Greg DAlessandro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Greg DAlessandro polycounter lvl 6
    Well I'm switching to Blender or some other program.
  • oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    studios we are dealing with are all on subscription... so there wont change anything... 
  • AtticusMars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    I switched from Max to Blender largely as a result of this, but I am also not a professional so I'm sure I'm not a good representation. I doubt people in professional settings with tons of investment into inhouse scripts and tools have much flexibility.
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    I switched to Blender when the Autodesk purchasing department and retailers couldn't get me a copy of 2009 or 2010.

Zero regrets, and I am actually working much more efficiently ever since. Win !
  • thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    i made my switch to blender over the course of 2015 after about 16 years on max. had looked at commercial alternatives too but this was the one that stood out. parts of the toolset which i regard as more modern and ability to better streamline working my preferred way had me converted. i had never ever looked at it seriously before hearing about those subscription plans.
    however i also wanted to break free from total dependency on windows so it wasn't just looming subscriptions that made me do it.

• Blond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blond polycounter lvl 9