Home Technical Talk

Need Help With UV's & Texture Resolution

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
CodeferBlue polycounter lvl 7
Hi, I'm fairly new to texturing in 3D, so bear with me here.
I have modelled and UV mapped a simple crate in 3ds Max. I use a simple photoshop workflow for applying textures onto my models.

The problem is however, the crate looks pretty low res, I'm wanting to use assets such as this in an environment for first person viewing. Evidently, this crate is way too low res for first person viewing.
I know the materials on the crate are a little off (the wood and the sand textures), but that doesn't change the fact that they look pretty low res.

I also know that I could use other textures maps such as Normal Maps, AO, Spec... But the diffuse it self looks worrying to me. What could I do to improve the texturing on this crate? Could it be the images I'm using? The resolution of the images are: Wood[1600x1452] & Sand[4272x2848]

Any and all feedback is most appreciated. Attached are pictures of the model, the UV's and the textures.
Many Thanks :)

Replies

• RobeOmega
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RobeOmega polycounter lvl 10
    Have you tried using another program to view your texture e.g. UE4? From the looks of it Max is displaying your texture at a much lower resolution than it should be.

• CodeferBlue
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I was thinking of trying that, I'll see if it works out.
  • tomenjerry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tomenjerry polycounter lvl 6