Home General Discussion

Junior Artist needs advice for career path

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
rayle1112 polycounter lvl 6
Hi guys,

I'm a junior 3D character artist, recently completed an one year program in game art last year, and I was fortunate enough to land my first job immediately at an indie studio in Vancouver, Canada. Because it's indie, my work is exceptionally varied, from contributing to character, props/environment, and even web design. I have met great people and learned a lot from working here in such a short time.

However,  I feel stuck in my career at the moment, and the stress is really killing me. The problem is my one-year post-grad working permit is gonna expire soon (I'm a foreigner, not Canadian), and I need a LMIA document in order to extend my work permit which means the studio would have to go through that hassle of sponsoring and dealing with legal issues. Unfortunately, my current studio is not qualified for LMIA so I will need to find another company that could help me out with working visa stuff. I don't want to go back to my country because there is no game/film industry over there, and I can't live without 3D, it's my everything..

I understand my chances are very low. There are tons of local talent of all experience levels looking for a job, and local talent is always preferred.  So I'm wondering if you guys could review my portfolio and would be able to give me some honest advice, especially from those of you who are industry veterans. Will I have any chance at finding an employer willing to sponsor my working visa with my current skill set? Could you suggest me any studio? It doesn't have to be in Canada, it could be anywhere in both game and film industry (Canada and US are preferred)

My Artstation: https://www.artstation.com/artist/rayle/profile
Personal website: http://www.rayleart.com/

Sorry about the wall of text, and thank you for reading!

Replies

• Burpee
    Offline / Send Message