Home Unity

Scene scale? Maya > Unity

purehilarity
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
purehilarity polycounter lvl 6
Hi guys,

My background is in animation and not video games. I've never really been in charge of setting the working scale for a project in Unity or any other program really.

I'm hoping to get some advice on what scale to create my models for this Unity project. Is it common to work in real world measurements? For a character, would I make them the equivalent of 6' (so 1 unity unit is a meter, appox 1.8 units). I have heard that there are some built in physics that are based on 9.8 m/s so in that way it makes sense to me to use real measurements.

Also in terms of working in Maya to create my models, what is the best way to translate them into Unity so the scale works out correctly. Would I want to change the unit settings in Maya from CM to Meter or would I just import them with the right scale factor?

Sorry this is a bit of a ramble. It's always been a confusing subject because my background is in Abstract 3D not real measurements. I've now worked for a year doing Zbrush for 3D print so I've gotten the scale side of that program down but not Unity!

Thanks.

Replies

• Owers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Owers polycounter lvl 10
    Unity and Maya's relationship in regards to units is weird. Maya's default unit is centimeters, but Unity uses meters. You can change Maya's units to meters in preferences but it can not be set permanently, if you create a new scene in Maya it'll be set back to centimeters. As a result, a lot of people leave Maya's units set to centimeters, and Unity will automatically compensate by scaling up your mesh 100 times if it detects it has been exported from Maya.

With that in mind: