Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Help

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Jaston3D polycounter lvl 8
Hey everyone! I've seen lots of portfolio posts lately and I can't help but follow the trend. I'm currently in my first year of community college and i've been doing game art for about 2 years now. I really need some help from you all to give me some direction and tips for my portfolio! Unfortunately right now it's just on Artstation, i'm sure i'll soon have my own personal website however. I want no sugar coating, just the raw truth. What does it lack? What are the strengths and weaknesses of it? Where do I fall on the spectrum? and do you think it's okay to start applying for jobs with the state it is in now?
Here's the link: https://www.artstation.com/artist/jordanaston
Thanks! :smiley: 

Replies

• vincentvangeel
    Offline / Send Message
    vincentvangeel polycounter lvl 4
    Your work looks pretty great, the only thing that I could suggest is a better breakdown of the project itself. Show some flat textures displaying the different maps you have used, concept art, some wireframes, single props ...  
    And if you put your images on your website, don't forget to stamp them with a logo or link so that they always know who made it and where they can see more of your work. 

• Jaston3D
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the reply! Yeah I couldn't agree more I especially need to get the wireframe up for the gun in my portfolio along with flats!
  • slosh
    Offline / Send Message
    slosh hero character