Home General Discussion

CG/Game companies in Japan

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
anathen polycounter lvl 8
Hello everyone! 
I'm a 3D CG student from Belgium currently studying in Tokyo, Japan hoping to become a character modeller.
The job hunting season is coming soon and I was hoping to get some info from foreigners working/who worked in japan!
I got a few recommendation from my teacher/mentors but I think there might be some less known workplaces out there.Most people told me to stay away from the big japanese companies such as namco , square enix , konami ,..
I've heard good things about Polygon pictures and Digital frontier but that's pretty much all I got.
I'm looking into Sony and From pictures right now.
Anyone who wants to ask questions about working in japan or share some experiences is more than welcome to reply!
Have a great day!

Replies

• Blond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blond polycounter lvl 9
    ''Prepare yourself to work crazy work hours and overtime''
    -A Japanese animator when I asked him how is it over there.
  • Lamont
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lamont polycounter lvl 15
    Some people like it, some don't. It's up to you to decide because it's very different from Western studios. The practices of some studios is downright atrocious and overall anaemic to the game development community, but it's the work culture here in Japan. You don't know until you're in it.
  • anathen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

That's what I've heard too so I'm trying to look for more "international" companies!

Like I've mentionned above polygon pictures and Digital frontier seem to be more on the the relaxed side of things but I just want to get as many options as possible.

• Jonas Ronnegard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jonas Ronnegard polycount sponsor
    Having worked at a couple of studios in Japan, big and small, I would say stay away from the big name japanese studios,