Home Technical Talk

Normals, UV's and Round Edges

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Klaus Hustle polycounter lvl 8
Hi, i was lookin for some help on google for one issue i have since i started learning UVs 3 weeks ago (yeah i am pretty much beginner level).

i get so frustrated in getting a decent normal-map on my lowpoly as i get visual errors all the time.

i am using 3dsMax and xNormals btw!

So i tried it with a simple box first and succeeded after alot of experimenting. I got rid of creepy edges with arranging my UVs in islands rather in having it unfold along the seams. Sorry, please correct me if i confuse some terminology here.

But when im doing something more advance than a box i get into the same troubles i was when i used my unfold Box UV's

So here are some Screenshots:

Here is the problem first, it's pretty obvious:

same view with edges activated:

The High-Poly-Version i created. I just made more Cuts and applied TurboSmooth on it.

and finally, here are my UV's

i know this kind of stuff is very complicated and you cant teach me everything i need to know about this stuff in just one posting here, but can you please give me some hints and buzzwords to look up so i have a higher chance of getting to know this stuff better?

I've read some stuff in the "You're making me hard." -Thread but i dont get it.. first of all i wanted to know what UV-Splits and Smoothing-Splits are? That would help alot to follow the Informations given in the thread i assume.

cheers!

Replies

• demigodssw
    Offline / Send Message
    demigodssw greentooth
    did u try padding option during projection?

• Klaus Hustle
    Offline / Send Message
    i raised the padding in xnormal to 16 yeah, but it has no effect on islands that are stitched together
  • demigodssw
    Offline / Send Message
    demigodssw greentooth