Home Contests & Challenges Archives Team Fortress 2

Help with can paint and jigglebone export/import

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
JoanSantus polycounter lvl 7
Hello guys,

This is my first time posting in this thread and my first time creating an item for TF2. 
I'm having 2 problems right now.
The first one, I created 2 textures, one for red and one for blue team, and created an alpha channel with white on the parts I want to paint. Once I import it using the itemtest and try it out, the whole hat gets painted. In the item test I specificed the blue and red files and picked the option to allow them to be painted. Is there something I should change or something I'm missing? 

My second problem and biggest one are the jigglebones. I skinned the hat inside maya and used Mesa to export it at .smd. I also added the jiggle bone code in the .QC Once I try to use the GUIStudioMDL and compile it I get an error when opening it that gameinfo.txt can't be find. I then try to compile with the orange box option selected using TF2 path and I get this message:

writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\tf\models/C:/Users/Joan/Documents/TrabajosExtras/JonTF2Hat/soldier/Hat/YukonHatTests/YukonHat.mdl:
Error opening C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\tf\models/C:/Users/Joan/Documents/TrabajosExtras/JonTF2Hat/soldier/Hat/YukonHatTests/YukonHat.mdl! (Check for write enable)

I'm really confused on what to do to fix that. I might be getting very frustrated and not thinking straight and probably is a dumb step or something I'm missing. 

I will greatly appreciate if someone could help me here.

Thank you very much for reading! Sorry for the long post.

Replies

• JoanSantus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JoanSantus polycounter lvl 7
    I was able to make the paint can work! 
    I haven't been able to do the jiggblebone correctly yet.
  • Baddcog
    Options
    Offline / Send Message