Home General Discussion

What do you do to pay the bills?

polycounter
Offline / Send Message
RogerP polycounter
I'm sitting here at my desk about to start my day at a job that pays the bills, but I despise most days. I work at a well known tech company as a technical support advisor. I'm sure some of you have done the same or are doing the same right now.

So...other than 3D what's your current profession? Hopefully something related to art in some way, I'm curious to know. I'm sure not everybody has the option to live in their parents basement until they make it in the industry.   :D

Replies

• pigart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pigart polycounter lvl 6
    My mom says school is my job for now so I should take it very seriously :neutral: 
  • TheMadArtist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TheMadArtist polycounter lvl 12
    Before I worked in the industry, I worked retail. Luckily I was one of the managers, so I was able to have a schedule that worked with my college classes. Still, lots of long days of work, then four hours of class, then home to work on projects all night. 
  • ExcessiveZero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ExcessiveZero polycounter lvl 6
    When ive not been able to study 3D ive taken two long term jobs, one was manager of a net cafe, and later night time lone security worker, first one I was on a computer with 95% + downtime, could even add time to the computers from the terminal and fill in the accounts, so could do what I like, 2nd one I was on my own guarding a place for security purposes, so I spent most of my time on a laptop, also just getting paid to study, read books and do CG more or less.

I have been pretty lucky in that way, but that's two jobs I have had where I just get paid to show up, so they are out there if you aren't quite industry ready but need study time.