Home Technical Talk

186 grey instead of 128 grey got any tips for authoring textures this way?

polycount sponsor
Offline / Send Message
malcolm polycount sponsor
Hi guys, we're currently learning about the whole gamma correct pipeline for UE4 and how you should author your textures at 186 grey in Photoshop to give the lighting engine better more physical values to work with so it can absorb and bounce light correctly.

I'm referencing these two pages in case anyone is wondering.
http://filmicgames.com/archives/299
For the Epic link scroll down to Making Lighting Noticeable
https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Engine/Rendering/LightingAndShadows/Lightmass/index.html

While the concept makes sense, the problem is this is really hard, it's hard to look at a texture in Photoshop and make it really bright, it feels perceptually wrong, or maybe because I've been making textures darker for 15 years now.

Either way, does anyone have a suggestion on how do this less painfully, right now we're taking the swatch approach and using those values as guidelines, but I still find it pretty tough and can't do it by eye without the help of the swatch.

My workflow:
1. Make my texture as normal.
2. Make a small swatch on the top layer with the average imminence I'm aiming for.
3. Make an adjustment layer to desat the image temporarily.
4. Put a curves or levels node under the swatch and desat and adjust until my texture's main colour matches the swatch by zooming out and squinting at it.
5. Make sure to account for dirt and grime being darker than the swatch so don't brighten the darkest pixels to match the swatch, but rather the actual part of the texture that is the majority of the material.
6. Then look at my texture and say damn that's bright and feel uncomfortable.

Questions:
1. The Order 1886 has really dark textures, so did they not use the 186 grey midpoint? As I thought they were the most physically correct game out there.