Home Interview

Jordan Walker - The man behind the Bathhouse

After winning the Stages category with his impeccable re-imagining of E. Honda’s Bathhouse in our recent BRAWL competition, Jordan Walker gives us a bit of insight into who he is and how he got to be so awesome. Currently working at Epic Games, Jordan is part of the Gears of War team - way to steal all the talent, Epic...

Hamish Bode:
Jordan, can you tell us a bit about yourself?

Jordan Walker: I've been in the video game industry for about 7 years and I'm currently a Senior Technical Artist at Epic Games.

HB: How did you first get into game art and eventually breaking into the industry?

JW: While in highschool I decided I wanted to create art for a living and the video game industry was my best chance at getting paid to do it while still getting some creative freedom. I went to community college for two years while doing a small amount of contract work for Gearbox. After college I was hired for my first in house job at N-Space in Florida to work on the Game-cube game Geist.

HB: Your Bathhouse entry had people drooling from the first tile you posted. Why did you choose to re-imagine this scene from SFII?

JW: As soon as I read the details for the contest I immediately thought of E.Honda's Bathhouse. It's an iconic stage from Street Fighter 2 and I remember it vividly from my childhood. It didn't hurt that the stage had basic geometry that I could quickly build and materials that could easily be made high res. That let me concentrate on making the scene have unique destruction and painting.

HB: Working at Epic has obviously given you some mad skills with the UDK. Given that this engine is used so widely by Polycounters, what do you think is the main thing that people could improve on in their use of the UDK?