Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

OA3 progress thread

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
leilei polycounter lvl 14
OA3 = OA reboot branch.

Quality control focus and the (pre-moe revolution) animes. 2500~ish budgets on players, no alphas, normalmaps or >1 textures.  All GPL v2+ licensed etc.  Avoiding q3 derivativeness conceptually, thematically, etc. Same gameplay, but with new gametypes, and new presentation to keep it fresh.  Several engine updates to break past its 1999 barrier and into.......the 2001 barrier.  (particle system, widescreen, ui, EAX, content lock, etc)

I hope that's brief enough. and here's a rough glance of in-game which shows an OA0 level with an OA3 character, weapon, hud

My current focus right now is player animation - it's a tricky field. and Blender's scale system works against the pipeline, the rigify system, and i'm still learning animation techniques as I go :(

Replies

• leilei
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok time to cut the lazy and do something about this dusty year old thread.

Some time ago AndroidArts made a bunch of concepts. A lot of these are great and helped me get out of a creative slump and pick up the speed and modeled some of the less skimpy characters for a change

which is a nice fresh breath of air from the other designs, which fall into typical "ecchi monster girl OC" territory, the kind you'd either find in some '90s anime or someone's deviantArt:

I still can't shake off the bad habit of bad arms and rigs :( i'm still using Blender's rigify and I believe it has bad shoulder handling or maybe i'm not placing my initial skeleton's bones properly prior to making a meta rig.

Crits on any of these welcome, though what I really should do is fix everyone's arms and focus on arms arms arms (my new years resolution involved arms).  I'm showing the most maturely representatively polished player models here in an orthographic view mid walk animation, and the walk animation isn't that great either.