Home General Discussion

Textures.com, formerly CGTextures, with updated terms

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Thane- polycounter lvl 3
Any thoughts? Seems expensive to me. I always liked the idea of downloading the highest res to be future proof and in case i needed the detail, so i don't seem to be getting much if i only wanted to go that route. However i have no professional experience, my ideas of what resolutions for textures are really needed to get good detail for current games may be way overblown.

Replies

• MM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MM polycounter lvl 17
    if my basic calculations are right, subscription fees seem very reasonable to me.
    its like $11 per month (1 year sub with 500 credits of commercial use) which gets you the following every month.
    seems very fair for the money.

500 Small Sized Images
    Medium Sized Images
    Large Sized Images
    XLarge ImagesUp to 22 XXLarge Images

if you cant afford $11 per month then you are not managing your money right or have the wrong priorities. for hobby/educational it is like $5.5 per month. its like one meal really!
  • Segreto
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Segreto polycount sponsor
    It turns out to be a bit more expensive than before, but still very reasonable I think. If you're not doing professional work, they do have a hobby license that's considerably cheaper.
  • s6
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    s6 polycounter lvl 10
  • Thane-
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thane- polycounter lvl 3
    What resolutions or sizes do you pros use the most without resizing them down? Like what sizes would you consider big enough for modern games while being a little bit future proof?