Home General Discussion

Art in Until Dawn

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Carabiner greentooth
I don't have a console so I can't play it myself, but I've been watching Let's Plays and the art looks really great. I'm not a character artist but I was especially impressed with the character art in this game, too. Has anyone else been playing this/noticed the art?

Examples: 1, 2, 3, 4

Replies

• woot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    woot polycounter lvl 5
    yeah i played it for around 5 hours last night on a friends ps4. really absorbing game.

motion cap and animations are impressive, but occasionally lipsync is off and animations are jerky.

material definition in it is simply amazing, as is the lighting. seriously fantastic work from their environment team.
  • thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    this game seems to have flown under the radar as far as praise about it's visuals is concerned. indeed there's some very nice looking character work in there. glad to see i am not alone in this opinion after all. :)
  • Blond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blond polycounter lvl 9
    That's some nice stuff. I'm not sure but it almost seems like they based the final models on scanned real people.

Still, don't hate me for this but the uncanny part still puts me off..
  • Brygelsmack
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brygelsmack polycounter lvl 11
    Blond wrote: »
    That's some nice stuff. I'm not sure but it almost seems like they based the final models on scanned real people.

Still, don't hate me for this but the uncanny part still puts me off..
    The game is pretty celebrity packed. It's easy to recognize Hayden Panettiere, Peter Stormare, Rami Malek and Nichole Bloom. The last two are in Mr Robot and Shameless, respectively. Two great TV shows.
  • Spiffy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Spiffy polycounter lvl 12
    It's uncanny valley but we're starting to cross it.