Home Technical Talk

Learning Modo by myself...give me some input, please.

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
ambelamba polycounter lvl 6
Hi, folks.

I work two jobs. I am a background actor...meaning I am an extra. And I am a manager at a small clothing store in a ghetto area in Inland Empire, So Cal. I usually spend 12 hours plus 1 hour lunch time and 2 hour commuting time on the set. And I usually work 3~4 days a week as an extra. And as a store manager I work at least 10 hours a day with 1 hour commuting time. And I work at least 2 days a week. I usually sleep anywhere between 5.5~7 hours a night.

And someone told me that I need 7200 hours of experience with CG to become just about to be proficient. I am about to cry in sorrow.

Since this July I slowly started learning Modo, and 3DCG in general. I did have some experience with MAX back in...1997 and Softimage in 1998, so that left me some bad taste in learning CG. I practically gave up for many years and now I am dabbling into CG.

No wonder why some people tell me to give up CG. Yeah, it's really tough to make time (4 full hours a day) to study. You know, I am not a risk taker and I often give up easily, since small beginner's mistakes in my childhood were dealt with violent punishments and abuses. (well, what I can say...I was raised in South Korea and corporal punishment & verbal abuse are integral part of the society...)

But this time I really hate to give up no matter how clueless I am in learning CG. Yeah, things are intimidating. But for some reason I hate to give up. I am learning Modo in a snail's pace and I find lack of learning materials in Modo kinda disappointing. I need to figure out a lot of things myself. It's tough.

Replies

• bounchfx
    hi ambelamba,