Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Obscura's hand painting improvement thread

grand marshal polycounter
Offline / Send Message
Obscura grand marshal polycounter
Hey guys!
So recently I started practicing hand painting again. I already posted a few results here and there, but I wanted to have them in one place so here is the thread for it. I would like to get feedback, opinions, suggestions here.

Here are the 3 most recent tries.

1. Book(Concept by Jasper Joris)
Concept:
https://jasperjoris.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/8347c3gpthyg1400201643809.jpg
My attempt:
jcOO41X.jpg

2. Sword(concept by Rafael Zanchetin):
Concept:
http://orig08.deviantart.net/c7c1/f/2015/224/a/f/batch1_by_rzanchetin-d95f6u8.png
My attempt:
zvLWdEX.jpg

3. Tileable stone brick texture:
I didnt have a specific concept for this, I was following various screenshots from WoW.
C10julK.png

And... For comparison, here is a scene that I made for practicing hand painting, at the end of 2013:
http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=129297&page=2
After this scene, I stopped making completely hand painted textures, until now.

Replies

• Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    I just uploaded the sword and the book to Sketchfab so now they can be viewed in 3d.
    [SKETCHFAB]eb8ff0f50d4f467eb8c571bed244e011[/SKETCHFAB]
    [SKETCHFAB]6d4b0d3dd7ba4b8e80104348d8dd4b30[/SKETCHFAB]
  • Kid.in.the.Dark
    Offline / Send Message
    Kid.in.the.Dark polycounter lvl 6
    that book is cuuuuute, great work so far... here's my critiques~

The values on your book metal material could go to a bit more extreme contrasts... that way it will sell the metal feel better as right now it's looking a little flat e.g.

maxresdefault.jpg

The book binder section itself I think could do with 2 metal bolts like the corners of the cover instead of a wooden bind section as well.. it would break up that negative brown space a bit more and add more eye candy for the viewer.

keep going (Y)
  • ROBBOsulsu