Home Technical Talk

3DS Max How to bind a skeleton to a biped

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
TorQue[MoD] polycounter lvl 19
Hey all,

In this video https://youtu.be/rQqjPZNRLv8?t=16m20s

Frank talks about how he binds a skeleton to a biped so that he can take advantage of biped's ability to import mocap data and having everything seamlessly work in-engine (UDK).

I'm trying to figure out how he bound the two skeletons together. I remember re-creating this years ago but I can't for the life of me remember how it was done and I can't find any info on this online. Anyone here have any ideas?

Replies

• antweiler
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    antweiler polycounter lvl 8
    i have little knowledge of Max, but in Maya i would write a simple script that parent constrains the bones to the corresponding bones of the biped. You can then bake your animation or export it directly. This should be equally possible in Max. To have an animationrig (in this case biped) and an exportskeleton separated, is a common workflow.
  • TorQue[MoD]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I seem to remember that there was already a modifier in max to take care of this for you but maybe that's wishful memory? I found my original file where I re-created this but I can't see any evidence of the skeletons being constrained to each other. Maybe I did find a script for taking care of this but the gods only know what that was called.
  • laforced
  • TorQue[MoD]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you laforced! These are some great links. I believe Evolver Biped Binder is the one I want because I need to bind to an exisiting skeleton, not one I'm creating. I couldn't find a download link for it on that page though or anywhere else on the net for that matter.
  • laforced
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    laforced polycounter lvl 2
    Looks like Autodesk owns the website now.....
    You could contact Paul Neale about the script,