Home Technical Talk

Next Gen Workflow ideas

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Elod.H polycounter lvl 11
Hello everyone,

I am doing a bit of planning / researching at the moment in order to better prepare myself for the current / next gen requirements of game art. I recognize the possibility of an artist to settle into their workflow, keep doing that for years and years and slowly drift away from the new, next gen tools that will eventually be mandatory if one is to aim high and remain valuable to the industry.

I recognize that the focus needs to be on art itself, study and practice should be heavily focused on raw creativity, but it is obvious that in this field of work it is very important to keep up to date with the latest tools.

I am an Environment Artist and pretty much use the standard tools, meaning: Maya / 3DSMax, Photoshop, ZBrush, XNormal,QUIXEL tools. I model props, texture them, create tiling textures, create small environments etc.

In some of my free time I want to devote myself to learn new software that I see becoming very popular, such as: Unreal 4, Substance Designer and Painter, World Machine, Knald. UE4 is obvious, the Substance tools seem incredibly powerful and I have already started researching them. World Machine looks very powerful for Terrain generation and would allow me to more quickly create very detailed environments. I don't know a lot about Knald, at this moment I am unsure whether it will enhance my workflow.
What I am really looking for are tools that allow a non-linear workflow. I don't mind steep learning curves as long as the end result will be that I can focus more on art and less on the constraints of my workflow. The Substance tools for example seem to provide pretty amazing possibilities when it comes to jumping back and forth during the work pipeline to change the look of things.