Home Technical Talk

fbx/obj question

I have seen people make comments in the past that a .obj and .fbx file receives a license stamp on every 3d package it has ever been exported in on a forum somewhere and I was wondering if it was true and how do you see that information. This is just something I think would be interesting to see a .fbx that says it went from max to modo to zbrush .etc. I think I first saw this on a thread somewhere that someone was trying to get around their student license for commercial work. Im just curious if its true because wouldn't that possibly increase the file size (even if it is a minuscule amount)?

and please for the love of God do not tell me to stop trying to break a license agreement. Im not. I own a commercial license of maya this is seriously just something I am wondering about.

Replies

• sushi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I worked in the legal field for over four years and was educated and involved in advanced digital data recovery on a day-to-day basis. I have no doubt that such a thing as you mentioned exists - it is very possible and likely.

As for file size, metadata is extremely lightweight and has virtually no impact on file size.
  • DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Haven't seen those kind of info in any obj I worked with. Anyhow you can open obj in text editor and look for it yourself.
  • JedTheKrampus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JedTheKrampus polycounter lvl 8